Follow Friday ~ Finding Forgotten Stories

Posted: July 12, 2012 in Family
Tags: , , ,

A Tree Is Only As Strong As The Roots That Support It
Photo Credit: kellyvial.wordpress.com

In the midst of scanning documents, researching elusive family members, organizing the hierarchy that are my computer files, keeping up with genealogy emails, and job hunting, I have managed my time so well that I was able to read a few blog articles. One article in particular caught my attention, called Finding Forgotten Stories by Anne Gillespie Mitchell. I think it was Anne’s style of writing that kept me so captivated with every line I was reading and I ended up wanting to read the entirety of her article, “Wisdom Wednesday: It Is What It Is, It Aint What It Aint”. 

Once I started reading, I became intrigued with her words as she told the story of her research findings in her own family; I love how she captures the lives of her family to the point where you can envision the current events of the times that may have shaped their lives.  She includes this time line of events when writing of her family and creates a well rounded story. What a great history lesson! It’s not just names and dates or even a few photos throughout the article itself; it’s more like a well thought out story because when a person reads it, they are not only intrigued by the story but they also remember it. She has painted a picture with her words and delivers a wonderful article in which to read. She is a great writer with a unique story to tell.  I hope you like the article and her blog as much as I have.

You Can Read Anne Gillespie Mitchell’s Article Here: http://finding-forgotten-stories.com/2012/07/11/wisdom-wednesday-it-is-what-it-is-it-aint-what-it-aint/

Comments
  1. Nancy says:

    Sounds like you have been busy! I did my Follow Friday on your HistoryPin post. I really enjoyed it and think it will be a useful site—and it’s free!

    • kellyvial says:

      Thank you for featuring my article for your Follow Friday post. I am honored that you chose mine knowing that there are so many other genealogy blogs out there in which to do a write up on. Thank you for your kind words, you have brightened my morning and I haven’t even had my first cup of coffee!

  2. […] finally, Kelly Vial’s very kind words about yours truly: Follow Friday – Finding Forgotten Stories Share this:TwitterFacebookPinterestEmailPrintMoreStumbleUponLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  3. Kelly, thanks so much for your kind words. You have made my day!

Leave a Reply

