(Un)Wordless Wednesday ~ David Cornett

Posted: July 11, 2012 in Family
Tags: , ,

David Cornett (Black and White) Date Unknown

David Cornett Gravestone Marker
November 3, 1805 ~ January 24, 1886

David Cornett also known as David “Blue” Cornett, born November 3, 1805 and died January 25, 1886.

The real mystery behind David is how he became known as David “Blue” Cornett. Where did this information come from? Was this his given name? If so, I haven’t found any documentation that states this as fact. Yet! The only place I think I have seen him referred to as David “Blue” are from member trees on Ancestry.com. I am looking to solve this mystery!

(Portrait Image Source Link: http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=pv&GRid=65560607&PIpi=63065935)

(Gravestone Image Source Link: http://www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi?page=pv&GRid=65560607&PIpi=38874255)

Image Credits: Clinton G.

Comments
  1. Carolyn Mitchell says:

    In regards to David BLUE Cornett…. I have found an interesting article regarding a family in Kentucky, known as the Blue people of kentucky,,,the surname is Fugate… they have a genetic condition that causes their complexion to be blue…. in their ancestory is a Cornett… I have wondered if this is why David BLUE Cornett was referred to by “Blue”.. also in my genealogy studies I have found a few others that were referred to as “Blue”… I think that this might be the reason?

    • kellyvial says:

      I have heard of the Fugate family also, it was a pretty interesting read but I’m not sure if he really had this genetic disorder. Although, it could be a good possibility. It could have been his nickname maybe. I have heard different assumptions by different people (researchers) that it may be a reference to royal lineage or could be due to the color of his eyes. But all the pictures I have of him, his eyes don’t look like they may have been blue. They look dark like they may have been brown in color. So this is definitely worth investigating further. I was unable to find any documentation that lists his name as “Blue”- (just a census record) but David could have told the census taker that information. He’s definitely the mystery man in my tree!

Leave a Reply

