My Day Playing Tourist In Waikiki

Posted: July 8, 2012 in Family
Tags: , , , , , ,

I had a great day yesterday and I wasn’t even doing research on my family history! Today’s blog is all about free time and how I spent it with my Ohana. When I say family, I mean my mother and my husband. For those of you that know me personally, you know that my children live in the mainland with their father. I really miss them! Thank goodness for technology, social networks, cell phones and Skype! Even though our little family has had the best of times and the worst of times, together we live and make each other happy in the best way we know how. I really don’t know what I would do without either of them. We don’t have to spend a ton of money to have a good time together, and since I am unemployed at present, it’s not like we will be eating at fine dining restaurants and taking helicopter tours all over the island! My love for cooking puts me in the kitchen quite a bit. So whether I’m baking cookies, creating my own dishes to eat at home, I save money anyway. Keyword here is frugal!

It’s expensive to live here, to eat here, and the rent is the highest in the nation I’m sure! You have to pay for paradise, because it doesn’t come cheap 🙂 All in all, I love where I live. Now if I could just find a career doing something I love, such as writing, I would be in absolute heaven! I am so close to Waikiki, it’s only like a hop, skip and a jump away from the true beauty of the ocean. It’s  one of my most favorite places to be. The ocean calms me and relieves me of all the stress I have pent up inside. Just to sit on the beach wall, watching the sunsets and sailboats pass by, makes me a happier person. I see the beach and I can feel the smile begin to form on my face. Truthfully, I don’t think you could smack the grin off of my face when I’m in my happy place.

I just want to share some photos I took last night of the sunset at Queen’s Beach in Waikiki. I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed capturing them. By the way, I am not a professional photographer and didn’t have an expensive camera. I had my trusty iPhone 4! That’s what the photos below were taken with. Nothing extravagant, but beautiful all the same.

Have a great weekend everyone!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

