Tombstone Tuesday ~ James C. Cornett Jr.

Posted: July 3, 2012 in 4th of July, cornett, Family
Tags: , , , ,

James C. Cornett (6th Great Grandfather) who was born 1760 and died in 1824; he was a Revolutionary War soldier. The photo was taken recently at a ceremony which took place to commemorate both his life and his death.

The above photo was sent to me from a relative and fellow researcher, who was actually researching the same surnames that I was. When I first contacted her, I didn’t even know she was related to me! Pure awesomeness! My genealogy research has connected me with more family and for that I will be forever grateful. 🙂

HAVE A SAFE AND HAPPY 4th OF JULY!! GOD BLESS OUR TROOPS ❤

Comments
  1. Susie Cornette Walters says:

    Hi Kelly,

    We may be cousins. My name is “Susie” Cornette Walters. The “e” was added by my uncle and my father followed suit. My mom, Ruby Lucille Anderson Cornette, is the daughter of Virginia Clair Cornett Anderson and James Lester Anderson from Flat Ridge, Virginia. Virginia Clair Cornett is the daughter of Alexander Columbus Cornett and Ida Jane Ross Cornett. I am trying to confirm if Alexander is indeed a child of Dudley Jackson Cornett and Virginia Evaline Livesay Cornett. I have found conflicting information. If he is the chid of Dudley, who is the son of David Blue and Phoebe “Feby” Sutherland Cornett (daughter of Alexander Sutherland), then I may be related to you and also Peggy Cornett Green in the respose above. How cool!!!

    Happy 4th to you and thank you for sharing the photo.

    Sincerely,

    Pamela Susan Cornette Walters (Susie)

  2. Peggy Cornett Greene says:

    Hello Kelly,
    Hope your 4th is the best ever. Yes we are having hot weather, but enjoyed our local parade this am. James Cornett was my grandfather also, so that makes us relatives. I did not realize it when I did the potos for Alexander Sutherland Cemetery for you.
    I am still do photo in the county and posting them.
    Peggy

    • kellyvial says:

      Aloha Peggy!
      Hope you are enjoying your day; thank you so much for the photos, I really appreciate them! Thank you for volunteering to take the cemetery photos, I look forward to seeing more of them in the future 🙂

Leave a Reply

